About our Faculty


About our Faculty


About our Faculty

Our renowned faculty have received many of the most prestigious and competitive fellowships and awards in their fields, including numerous Guggenheim Fellowships. Our faculty also regularly receive UC President’s Fellowships, competing against outstanding faculty from all UC campuses.

Many have won major book prizes in their fields and several have held presidencies and other leadership positions in national and international societies and organizations.

Explore the sections below to learn more.


Featured Faculty


Anne H. Charity Hudley

North Hall Endowed Chair in the Linguistics of African America and Director of Undergraduate Research



At UC Santa Barbara, private philanthropic support is central to maintaining the high quality of our departments
and programs. One of the most important types of gifts is an endowed chair, which can help UCSB recruit
outstanding faculty and provide funds for cutting-edge research, graduate student support, and innovative
programmatic initiatives.

Clarence Barlow photo by Eric Isaacs (2).jpg

Dorothy and Sherrill C. Corwin Chair in Music Composition

Clarence Barlow, Professor of Music

Helen Morales Classics (2).jpg

James and Sarah Argyropoulos Chair in Hellenic Studies

Helen Morales, Professor of Classics

Michael Curtin.jpg

Duncan and Suzanne Mellichamp Chair in Global Media and Representation

Michael Curtin, Professor of Film and Media Studies 

Jose Cabezon.jpg

Dalai Lama Endowed Chair

José Cabezón, Professor of Religious Studies

Dick Wolf Director of the Carsey-Wolf Center and Presidential Chair in Media Studies

Patrice Petro, Professor of Film & Media Studies Carsey-Wolf Center Director

Ann Taves 2 PC Matt Perko.jpg

Virgil Cordano OFM Endowed Chair in Catholic Studies

Ann Taves, Professor of Religious Studies

Elliot Wolfson 2 PC Matt Perko.jpg

Marsha and Jay Glazer Endowed Chair in Jewish Studies

Eliot Wolfson, Professor of Religious Studies

Janet Afary 2 PC Matt Perko.jpg

Mellichamp Chair in Global Religion

Janet Afary, Professor of Religious Studies

Lai Ho and Wu Cho-liu Endowed Chair in Taiwan Studies

Kuo-Ch’ing Tu, Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultural Studies





Ann Jensen Adams, Professor, History of Art and Architecture

Public Faces and Private Identities in Seventeenth-Century Holland: Portraiture and the Production of Community. Cambridge University Press, 2014.


Maurizia Boscagli, Professor, English

Stuff Theory: Everyday Objects, Radical Materialism. Bloomsbury Press, 2014.



Established in 1925 by former United States Senator and Mrs. Simon Guggenheim, in memory of seventeen-year-old John Simon Guggenheim, the elder of their two sons, who died April 26, 1922, the Foundation has sought from its inception to “add to the educational, literary, artistic, and scientific power of this country, and also to provide for the cause of better international understanding,” as the Senator explained in his initial Letter of Gift (March 26, 1925). Guggenheim Fellowships are intended for individuals who have already demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts.

From the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.

58 Recipients since 1954

2016 George Legrady, Media Arts and Technology

2015 Jose Cabezon, Religious Studies

2015 Swati Chattopadhyay, History of Art and Architecture

2013 Ann Taves, Religious Studies

2007 Richard Ross, Art

2007 David White, Religious Studies

2006 Patricia Cohen, History

2005 Sharon Farmer, History

2003 Catherine Albanese, Religious Studies

2002 John Nathan, East Asian Language and Cultural Studies

2001 Abigail Solomon-Godeau, History of Art and Architecture


1999 Edson C. Armi, History of Art and Architecture

1999 Carol Lansing, History

1998 Jody Enders, French and Italian, Dramatic Art

1998 Nelson Lichtenstein, History

1998 Elisabeth Weber, Germanic, Slavic, and Semitic Studies

1997 Patricia Fumerton, English

1996 Suzanne Jill Levine, Spanish and Portuguese

1995 Alan Liu, English

1992 Mario Garcia, History


1989 Ann K. Hamilton, Art

1989 David Marshall, English

1989 David P. Rock, History

1989 Peter T. Shelton, Art

1989 Everett Zimmerman, English

1988 Sucheng Chan, History

1988 Sandra A. Thompson, Linguistics

1987 Apostolos Athanassakis, Classics

1987 Alejandro Planchart, Music

1985 Joel S. Feigin, Music

1985 Richard Helgerson, English

1985 Ulrich Keller, History of Art and Architecture

1984 Lawrence Badash, History

1984 John Sullivan, Classics

1983 Edwin Duval, French and Italian

1982 Robert Kelley, History

1980 David Gebhard, History of Art and Architecture


1979 William Frost, English

1978 Henri Dorra, Art

1978 Garrett Stewart, English

1972 Anne G. Cushing, French and Italian

1972 Vivian Mercier, English

1970 George Dangerfield, History


1969 Edgar Bowers, English

1968 Stuart P. Atkins, German

1967 Alexander Deconde, History

1967 Richard Exner, German

1967 Philip Walker, French and Italian

1965 Warren C. Hollister, History

1965 Harold Kirker, History

1965 Joachim Remak, History

1962 Immanuel Hsu, History

1960 Mark Hemmer, French and Italian


1959 Alexander Deconde, History

1958 Edgar Bowers, English

1958 William Frost, English

1958 Marvin Mudrick, English

1954 Stuart P. Atkins, German